About HKTDC | Media Room | Contact HKTDC | Wish List Wish List () | My HKTDC |
繁體 简体
Save As PDF Print this page

Products Requiring 3C Certification

In China, products which have an impact on the health and safety of people, animals and plants, on environmental protection and on public security are subject to a unified compulsory product certification system known as 3C (China Compulsory Certification or CCC). China implemented this new system of compulsory product certification on 1 May 2002 to replace the Great Wall CCEE mark and CCIB mark used in the old system.

The Regulations on the Administration of Compulsory Product Certification, the Measures for the Administration of Compulsory Product Certification Mark, and the Circular on Issues Relating to the Implementation of Compulsory Product Certification form the legal basis for compulsory product certification. They contain unified stipulations on the applicable product ranges, use of the CCC mark and supervision and monitoring of the system, etc. Products listed in the compulsory product certification catalogue must be certified by designated certification bodies, meet statutory quality standards, and must be granted the relevant certificate and affixed with the CCC mark before they can leave factory and be imported, sold or used.

As at the end of 2008, 160 products under 23 major categories were subject to mandatory certification:

1. Electric wires and cables (5 types)

2. Switches for circuits, installation protective and connection devices (6 types)

3. Low voltage electrical apparatus (9 types)

4. Small power motors (1 type)

5. Electric tools (16 types)

6. Welding machines (15 types)

7. Household and similar use appliances (18 types)

8. Audio and video equipment (excluding acoustics equipment for broadcasting service and automobiles) (16 types)

9. Information technology equipment (12 types)

10. Lighting equipment (2 types)

11. Telecommunications terminal equipment (9 types)

12. Motor vehicles and safety parts (17 types)

13. Motor vehicle tyres (3 types)

14. Safety glass (3 types)

15. Latex products (1 type)

16. Agricultural products (2 types)

17. Medical devices (7 types)

18. Fire fighting products (3 types)

19. Safety technology protective products (4 types)

20. Wireless LAN products (1 type)

21. Decoration products (3 types)

22. Toys (6 types)

23. Information security products (6 types)

Certification Mark

Products listed in the catalogue are subject to compulsory safety certification, and a unified CCC mark is used.

There are four types of CCC mark, with each having five specifications:

Certification Mark

Certification Bodies, Procedures and Fees

Standard items and fees are charged for compulsory certification of products. The latest fee schedule is drawn up based on fees charged for similar certifications overseas on the principle of national treatment.

The Certification and Accreditation Administration of China under the State Council is responsible for compulsory product certification across the country, while the certification work is performed by certification bodies designated by the Administration.

While the business of different certification bodies may vary from one another, their certification processes are basically similar, including: (1) handling applications for certification; (2) model testing; (3) factory inspection; (4) sample testing; (5) assessing certification results and granting approval; and (6) post-certification monitoring.

Content provided by Hong Kong Trade Development Council
Comments (0)
Shows local time in Hong Kong (GMT+8 hours)

HKTDC welcomes your views. Please stay on topic and be respectful of other readers.
Review our Comment Policy

*Add a comment (up to 5,000 characters)